transformer confusion - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th October 2006, 08:20 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default transformer confusion

Im very new to this stuff and have what may be a silly question but I'm going to have to ask it.

On a circuit which specifies AC and AC Zero from the transformer how do you determine which end of the winding is which?
The transformer is a talema 2x25 120va.

The label shows red/black and orange/yellow as being the pairing but doesn't say which is AC Zero?

I realise this isn't much to do with solid state but there isn't a transformers thread and it is valuable learning for when I build my first gainclone.
john
Old 6th October 2006, 10:59 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi John,

Transformers have to do very much with solid state amplifiers!

As a precaution, I presume you are talking about the secondary windings; you have sorted out the primary.