troubleshooting a P3A

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am fairly new at this but liked the P3a because it seems so simple and easy to build. There must be a cloud over my head.

Having spent more hours than I care to admit checking, rechecking and then checking again, I can say with some confidence that the resistors are of correct value and the polarity of the capacitors and diode are correct. Until asked, I wont list all the various combinations of transistors tried, but there have been enough that at least one should have worked by now.

After completion, tests using a 12V power supply (and 20 ohm resistors) result in a big drop at input (to about 8.5) and a bigger drop at the other side. Whatever the reading at the amp side of the fuse is exactly the same reading at the output of the amp.

Any advice is welcome,

PR

Check the small signal transistors. If you used something other than the BC546's parts that Rod uses (I used MPSA06), the pinouts are different. I experienced the exact same thing. Reverse the transistors (check pinout datasheets online!) and try again. Have fun - it's a good sounding amp when you're done.

PR,

What is your bias pot setting? I just powered up my P3A two days ago and it drew a ridiculous amount of current at low voltage because the bias pot was set all the way at one extreme. This will also be obvious from a fair amount of heat from the output transistors. Once biased per the instructions, the temperature rise is barely noticable to the touch. Checking the voltage across the collector resistors will help confirm this.