Dynaco ST-410 Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am considering purchasing a Dynaco ST-410 200 wpc amplifier to run my Acoustat Spectra 1100s. I am not an expert on amps and I haven't found too many reviews of this amp. Has anyone ever used this amp? Is it a good amplifier? The price would be under $200, and I was wondering if this would be a good purchase?

Thanks,

Chris

The ST-400, ST-410 have only four outputs in series.The maximum rated Ic=16A and the Beta=15~60@8A .The RMS I^2=32 therefore the amp may put out 64W at 2 ohms, 128W at 4 ohms or 256W at 8 ohms before getting into trouble.The ST-416 has double the number of outputs and therefore can do four times the power into low impedance loads.A DH-500 can do RMS I^2=288, or 576W at 2 ohms, over twice what a ST-416 can do.Electrostats can and do drop down to 2 ohms at high frequency.One could install Semelab BUZ900D/905D in a ST-410 and get an RMS I^2=511 for about $120.This would involve re-wiring the output stage to parallel with the FETs.

Dynaco (Dynasaur) ST-410