Greening a Classic?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
There has been a bit of discussion on improving the Digi125 but no one seems to have picked up the gauntlet. Well, I am no expert, but I think I have followed what others have suggested in this Forum. If I can get some feedback I will do up the board and publish it.

I need to know if I screwed up the biasing arrangement with the changes I have made.

Also did I bias the caps to ground from the feedback loop properly?

The extra diodes are there for experimentation.

Is there a good place to put a pot to adjust offset? Value?

Any suggestions are welcome.

Well, here it is.......... and thanks.

Attachments

• digigreen150jpg.jpg
    digigreen150jpg.jpg
    56.2 KB · Views: 2,294
I can see no fault in this

It should work resonably well
especially with regulated supply.
The currents in the input pair
are calculated to acheive equally sharing of current.

You can split the 2k21 resistor, above the 4 diodes,
into two resistors,
and put a bootstrap capacitor
from between the resistors to the output.

Or replace that resistor with a current source,
but then you lose the simplicity
of the design.

I maybe should increase the currents in the input pair.
0.3mA to drive the 15mA in the BD139
is not much.
1/10 would make the current 1.5mA
Something like 1-2 mA would be my choice

The one and only
Joined 2001
Paid Member
In addition to the bootstrapping mentioned above, this
amp seriously needs a few parts. (Did I just say that???)

1) Some sort of input resistance to prevent parasitic oscillation
with the source impedance. Happens all the time.

2) An output RC network to prevent oscillation with the load.
Also happens all the time

3) Flyback diodes across outputs - You never Know.

4) Decouple the V+ on the diff pair's current source to get
the ripple out unless your supply is regulated.