Dynaco preamp rebuild

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, I am new to this hobby and I have 3 preamps to play with. I have a Dynaco PAT 4, Dynaco Pat 5 Bi- Fet, and a Hafler DH100 Series II. In stock form the Hafler is the best sounding. I am considering first to rebuild the PAT 4, mainly because of the apparent simplicity of the circuit. The PAT 4 has only 4 transistors in each channel. My plan is to remove the tone controls and replace all the passive components with higher quality parts. This preamp has Electrolytic capacitors in the signal path. I was thinking of Black Gates to replace them. Now the active parts are outdated as well. The preamp uses (2) BC109B transistors in the phono section and (1) BC109B and (1) 2N3053 transistor in the output section. The manual specifies that the BC109B specs. are 240-500 Beta@5v,2ma. and the 2N3055 specs are 200-500 Beta@10v, 150ma. Can the performance of this preamp be improved with modern transistors, or is it a hopeless case. The Hafler uses NE5532 opamps throughout. I have some NE5535 opamps that have been biased for class A operation. I have considered these for the Hafler but I am sure about them for the phono section.The Hafler uses 5532's pre and post RIAA, in the tone section and output. Any thoughts about the possibilities? Thanks, Don Nebel

Hard Classics to Rebuild

These are some difficult old classics to rebuild.

The PAT-4 has very special tone controls that I'm not sure can even BE replaced. The wipers are non-standard configuration, as I recall. Maybe I'm thinking of the PAS-3x, which was the tube preamp from Dynaco.

Opinions differ about the PAT-5. Some "golden ears" people think that they are terrible. Some think that they are wonderful. I used to have a PAT-5. It ran my Stereo-70 just fine, but that was a tube amp that smoothed some of the roughness out of the sound.