Carver PM1.5 120 to 240V question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th May 2006, 11:42 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Carver PM1.5 120 to 240V question

Hi everyone

I've a Carver amp I've been using for a few years in Australia (PM1.5) with a step down transformer.

Still works fine, just would like to get rid of the step down transformer...

I've opened up the amp and seen the diac/triac board which has a section indicating some jumpers possibly to change when using 240V (J3-J5). However J2 is supposed to be connected for 120V operation and currently it isn't! (and is working fine !!! )

I also noticed R9, C6 and C7 are not fitted on the board, and was curious if they needed to be for 240V operation. See pic attached.

Would appreciate any knowledgable opinions on what is the likely best course of action without blowing it up!

Cheers, Kendrick
Attached Images
File Type: jpg editedpm1.jpg (91.7 KB, 216 views)
Old 16th May 2006, 01:01 PM   #2
anatech is offline anatech  Canada
diyAudio Moderator

Hi Kendrick,
Just a quick from the hip remark for you. I am positive the triac would need to be changed out. I recall there was a different part number for it. That and the Mag coil windings need to be put in series.

There are other things to do. I would highly recommend this be done at an ex-Carver warranty shop. Make sure it's a tech that actually used to work on these. The circuit you are changing is fundamental to the way this amp operates.

Due to the nature of the way this amplifier draws power from the AC supply, use a step down transformer sized much larger than you would normally think it requires. At least you are step down, rather than up!

-Chris
Old 16th May 2006, 09:31 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hi Anatech