First Time Amp Builder in Need of Help from Experts!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have never built an amp before, but I am a vetern speaker builder by passion, and Electrical Engineering student by trade. I recently bought a pair of Acoustat Spectra 1100 ESL speakers, but my puny 50 WPC Sony amp can't drive them without straining. I would like to build a stereo amplifier with at least 100 WPC at 8 ohms. As I am in college, I must do this on a budget (less than $200). I don't know any particular designs, so I would need full schematics, PCB layout, power supply diagrams, wiring diagram, and parts list. Thanks in advance for your ideas and help...

Chris

Hi Chris,
One thing you should know is that DIY stuff generally costs more than store-built, for the same power level (although you get better performance).
Here's a link I suggested in another thread. Add to these modules the cost of a transformer, cabinet, wiring, connectors, etc. and you'll have a good idea of what it might cost.
http://www.audioxpress.com/bksprods/kits/ki-hy2000.htm
The schematics you may run across don't give a good idea of the costs of such a project. Cabinet, transformer, capacitors and heatsinks are typically the majority of the cost.

Also, I would really recommend you not build a high-power amp from scratch as your first project. There are too many things that can go wrong.

Joined 2000
Paid Member
http://www.audioxpress.com has several modules and a few new modules that might suit your needs. You'd have to get your own trans, enclosure, power supply. The newer modules have power supplies you can purchase.

OMP/MFs come w/ transformer. They are mono blocks. 115w for $139. These were reviewed in Audio Electronic magazine. They got a good review.

HY2005 120 Watts (150W rms max) Power Amp Module with Integral Power Supply 6 lbs. $104.99