Help Troubleshoot Outlaw Model 7100 Amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th March 2006, 08:40 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Help Troubleshoot Outlaw Model 7100 Amp

Hello everyone,

I am new to the site, lots of info! I have little knowledge about troubleshooting electonics, so thought I would seek out some expert opinions.

I have an Outlaw model 7100 amplifier which seems to have a defective channel. The speaker hooked up to it actually started to smoking when I initially tested the unit. I immediately powered the unit off and disconnected it from the power source.

I have sinced hooked it up to alternate (see old!) equipment to test the unit. All the 6 other channels seems to work just fine. When i went to test the final faulty channel, with the unit powered off but plugged in, the speaker made crackling/popping noises when the negative speaker wire made contact with the amplifier's negative speaker jack on that channel. Once the unit was powered on, the speaker produced only a static hum.

Any help on insight anyone could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!
Old 20th March 2006, 12:30 AM   #2
Leolabs is offline Leolabs  Malaysia
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Leolabs
Get yourself a multimeter and check the output DC voltage level,it should go up quite a number,which mean the circuitry is already KO!
Old 20th March 2006, 01:08 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

thank you for your input. Do you have any ideas as to specifically what might be causing this problem?

Anyone?

Thanks!
Old 20th March 2006, 07:13 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Can you or somebody post a copy of the schematic?
Old 20th March 2006, 08:15 PM   #5
diyAudio Member