Wanted Schematic (help too) Sansui Au-101

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have very little experience with solid state amp cicuits (I usually play with valves), but I am trying to fix a friends amp anyway.
It's a:

SANSUI AU-101

The problem was some distortion in the right channel.
I have narrowed the problem down to the power amp section, which thankfully looks very simple, and is on a seperate PCB.

As far as I can tell, the electrolytics are fine.
I dont know how to test the transistors properly, but they also seem ok.
Could the problem be in the power supply (which is on the same PCB)?

I think I could get along ok if I had a schematic, but I can't find a free one on the net.

Any help or tips will be apreciated, as I said I'm no expert.

No Luck

A have been looking around a lot, but still no luck with a schematic.

However, what was interesting, was that most of the sites that I did find which related to the Sansui AU-101, were all compaints of the same, or similar problems.
Also, none of the advice given to these people on the net seemed to help in the least.

I think I may have picked up on some sort of decieving symptom. It's a problem which seems sympler than it realy is.

I must have visited at least 7 or 8 sites, where poeple complained about distortion in the right chanel. Though aparently no other problems.

Have any of you perhaps done any repair on this amp, or even encountered this problem? any feedback will be apreciated.

Joined 2003
Paid Member
Raphael Shaw said:

I have narrowed the problem down to the power amp section, which thankfully looks very simple, and is on a seperate PCB.

As far as I can tell, the electrolytics are fine.
I dont know how to test the transistors properly, but they also seem ok.
Could the problem be in the power supply (which is on the same PCB)?

Raphael,