ADCOM GFA-555 power on but no sound... - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th February 2006, 01:18 AM   #1
rinsbag is offline rinsbag  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default ADCOM GFA-555 power on but no sound...

I am new to electronics repair. A friend gave this to me so Im trying to fix it. I have read very good things about this amp.

I replaced the fuses inside the amp. I do not have a preamp but I do have a dj mixer so I connected my booth out to the 'in' on the amp. then connected one speaker to the right channel. After this I turned it on. At the moment the power light comes on and so does the left channel light. It did make a strange pop sound when first powered on. But then nothing. I tried the other channel still no sound.

I do notice the part ADCOM 72-2206-0-0 on one of the blue things (sorry...if anyone can point me to a site that I can learn some of the basics of electronics please do.) looks fried. I am including a pic of the unit.

Any help or is this dead? I kinda want to do this myself so any links to some sites that I can learn from would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg adcom gfa-555 image.jpg (96.9 KB, 492 views)
Old 14th February 2006, 01:40 AM   #2
clem_o is offline clem_o  Philippines
diyAudio Member

Are you referring to the part at the lower left of the picture?

The 'Blue thing' is a power supply filter capacitor. On top is a small PCB that looks discolored. I assume under that board (between the board and the blue BIG capacitor) is a resistor. It appears to be used to simply light the lamp at the front panel of the amplifier (orange and black wire)..

Its improbable that this would be the cause of the problem...

Cheers!

Clem
Old 14th February 2006, 02:02 AM   #3