interesting little IC (AD797) preamp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
i just received this interesting little preamp tonight from the editor of the audio magazine i write for:

http://www.raysamuelsaudio.com/new.html#ca2

haven't peeked inside yet so i'm not sure of the topology, but it uses two AD797's per channel. as for the sound, you would never guess what it is like. i don't mean that in a good or bad way, just that i was really shocked when i discovered that it used AD797s. i've never used them before myself but it sounds nothing like what i was expecting based on what people have told me about the IC.

anyone care to guess how this preamp sounds? ;)

cheers,
dorkus

diyAudio Retiree
Joined 2002
anyone care to guess how this preamp sounds?

I'll bite.

It sounds like an op amp circuit with three terminal regulators and good but not particularly great parts (including the opamps).

Further more it sounds like you need to listen to some good stuff if this seems particularly impressive to you.

Sorry,
Fred

P.S." It has a tube like warmth and fullness without sacrificing details" according to the designer so I guess that must be it.

Hmmmmmmmm....tantalum caps, yummy.

Re: anyone care to guess how this preamp sounds?

Fred Dieckmann said:

It sounds like an op amp circuit with three terminal regulators and good but not particularly great parts (including the opamps).

hmm, not really at all. sort of, but not really.

Further more it sounds like you need to listen to some good stuff if this seems particularly impressive to you.

you didn't read my original post very carefully. i said " i don't mean that in a good or bad way..." so i made no judgement about sound quality.

i have heard "good stuff" and know what a good system (preamp, amp, or otherwise) sounds like, so there was really no need for the assumption (or condescention) on your part.

try again.