diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Solid State (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/solid-state/)
-   -   interesting little IC (AD797) preamp (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/solid-state/7333-interesting-little-ic-ad797-preamp.html)

dorkus 4th November 2002 11:29 PM

interesting little IC (AD797) preamp

i just received this interesting little preamp tonight from the editor of the audio magazine i write for:

http://www.raysamuelsaudio.com/new.html#ca2

haven't peeked inside yet so i'm not sure of the topology, but it uses two AD797's per channel. as for the sound, you would never guess what it is like. i don't mean that in a good or bad way, just that i was really shocked when i discovered that it used AD797s. i've never used them before myself but it sounds nothing like what i was expecting based on what people have told me about the IC.

anyone care to guess how this preamp sounds? ;)

cheers,
dorkus

Fred Dieckmann 5th November 2002 12:14 AM

anyone care to guess how this preamp sounds?

I'll bite.

It sounds like an op amp circuit with three terminal regulators and good but not particularly great parts (including the opamps).

Further more it sounds like you need to listen to some good stuff if this seems particularly impressive to you.

Sorry,
Fred

P.S." It has a tube like warmth and fullness without sacrificing details" according to the designer so I guess that must be it.

Hmmmmmmmm....tantalum caps, yummy.

dorkus 5th November 2002 12:32 AM

Re: anyone care to guess how this preamp sounds?

Quote:

Originally posted by Fred Dieckmann

It sounds like an op amp circuit with three terminal regulators and good but not particularly great parts (including the opamps).

hmm, not really at all. sort of, but not really.

Quote:

Further more it sounds like you need to listen to some good stuff if this seems particularly impressive to you.