John Curl's Blowtorch preamplifier

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think that I have found a secret impugner of my reputation. Anyone want to offer any evidence?
This is the point: I have worked diligently for decades to make better audio. I do it for a living, so it is easier for me to have tried more things than many here. I don't really 'cut-and-try' at random, but I listen to what has worked for others, as well as myself, and I don't deliberately push people away by telling them that something is 'impossible'.
The more we are educated by the 'system' the less we are inclined to accept 'new' information. Ever talk to your MD doctor about your favorite vitamin supplement? Same thing.
A few weeks ago, I accidently came across an input to TAN, a network that was popular, before the internet got going, bigtime. It was 13 years old! Yet, I was debating at the AES, EXACTLY the same stuff that I get, from Syn08, Cordell, et al exactly as I get here, today. I am apparently wasting my time, as Dimitri has already collected my inputs on the internet for the last 10 years, and put them up for anyone to read. I just don't have enough time left to waste my time, repeating myself. I 'may' have 10 more years, if that, given the state of my associates and their maladies, and I have come to realize that nobody is going to change the direction of this thread, except me.

It strikes me that many people do not appreciate that people such as John, Joe Pass and many others have absolutely no need to post here. It also strikes me that there are some people who make a point of being rather objectionable to virtually anything an expert has to say. Others raise petty quibbles and some are just downright objectionable!

The first group - those with deep experience and knowledge which they give freely as far as they can (usually relying on the audio industry as the field in which they make their living) - are the givers of this world.