Fairchild amp application

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, all

That circuit attached I found in a "old" Fairchild applications book.

(Application Note 336 - July 1977: 75 W Hi Hi Audio Amplifier with low transient intermodulation
distortion)

A PDF of the whole article ist available if you're interested (includes component and board layout - 392 KB).

As a bloody amateur I would be very interested in comments, and in your suggestions for replacments for the FT transistor types, as well.

Peter

Attachments

• fairchild amp schem.jpg
    fairchild amp schem.jpg
    57.1 KB · Views: 757
I've seen that Fairchild application note before, it's essentially a Leach, GAS Son-of-Ampzilla, etc. Accuphase and Luxman also made something similar.

They sound quite good. I would strongly consider the Leach as the parts are still available, a tried and tested design.

Fairchild Amplifier

For what its worth

The Fairchild application was the basis of several amplifiers mentioned above but probably the most interesting was the Audionics CC02 ampfilier. Robert Sickler, an Audionics technician modified the Fairchild resulting in a very good amplifier that played music. One of my favourites and still holding its own in today's Class AB company. A detailed story and circuit diagram of the CC02 can be found on Lynn Olsen's website: http://www.nutshellhifi.com/

If you can post the pdf of the Fairchild application note it would be much appreciated.

Regards Ejam

Re: Fairchild Amplifier

Ejam said:
Audionics CC02 ampfilier. Robert Sickler, an Audionics technician modified the Fairchild resulting in a very good amplifier that played music. One of my favourites and still holding its own in today's Class AB company.