Marantz PM66 KI tweeks

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi

I am new to this brilliant forum (can't believe I never found it before).

I have for the past 6 months been heavily modding my CD63 KI and the results have been fantastic.

So I have turned my interests to the KI amp.

So far I have changed C705/706/751/752 for equivalent Black Gates

C717/718/719 for uprated Black Gates.

C709/710/753/754/755/756 to equivalent silver mica types

The results have been very good indeed, bringing new life to the amp.

I was wondering if anyone here has done similar mods and has any more pointer for me.

cheers

Hi rowemeister, and welcome to the forum.

rowemeister said:
I have for the past 6 months been heavily modding my CD63 KI and the results have been fantastic.

I'd love to know all about your mods to this fine (when modded to kingdom come) CD player, pehaps in another thread.

I'm afraid I don't know much about modding amps, but make sure your mains and internal power supply is good. This is perhaps the single most important factor for sound quality in an amp. If you prefer a smoother sound run your amp off a large isolation transformer. I personally love the way amps sound on wooden feet - try Russ Andrews' Oak Cone feet [if you haven't already].

As for internal considerations, I'd rather leave that to those that know better!!

I have done quite a few mods to this amp now so I thought I should post a pic.
The most noticable mod is the rather small res caps. lol

The bass is very good from these caps and no loss of treble etc.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Here is a pic of Schottky bridge, Black Gate caps and silver mica etc

Attachments

• pm66ki bg caps and bridge.jpg
    pm66ki bg caps and bridge.jpg
    56.8 KB · Views: 2,583