Variac use and old solid state amp. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th December 2005, 03:12 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Variac use and old solid state amp.

I am a solid state newbie. I have this old class A amp that I purchased on ebay that I am putting in new PS caps and a few on the board as well as new output transistors.

Since it is likely that this has not been running in some time I want to use a variac to form the (electrolytic) caps on the board. I read some where that this is a bad idea with solid state amps in general.

Any help is appreciated.
Old 8th December 2005, 09:29 PM   #2
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Variac use and old solid state amp.

Quote:
Originally posted by portlandlay

I read some where that this is a bad idea with solid state amps in general.

Any help is appreciated.
that thing only some sh*thead can write.
variac is invented for DIY crowd in holly salvaging crusade......

what amp is in question and in what condition it is ...

be more specific and you'll hear more comments
Old 8th December 2005, 09:40 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks Choky,

This is an Early Sugden A21 integrated. It looks to be in really nice shape. Cosmetics are excellent. The filter caps were physically leaking so I ordered new ps caps and output coupling caps (were 40v 2500uF now 50v 2900uF).

Two other caps looked like the cases were comprimised and one other cap had been replaced. I am replacing the bad ones and the one the one that was replaced (along with the same one in th other channel).

I also have new transistors for the output as one had been replaced and did not math the originals.