Variac use and old solid state amp.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a solid state newbie. I have this old class A amp that I purchased on ebay that I am putting in new PS caps and a few on the board as well as new output transistors.

Since it is likely that this has not been running in some time I want to use a variac to form the (electrolytic) caps on the board. I read some where that this is a bad idea with solid state amps in general.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks Choky,

This is an Early Sugden A21 integrated. It looks to be in really nice shape. Cosmetics are excellent. The filter caps were physically leaking so I ordered new ps caps and output coupling caps (were 40v 2500uF now 50v 2900uF).

Two other caps looked like the cases were comprimised and one other cap had been replaced. I am replacing the bad ones and the one the one that was replaced (along with the same one in th other channel).

I also have new transistors for the output as one had been replaced and did not math the originals.

So I want to get it all put together and run the voltage up over a days period staring at say 30-50 and watching if any caps get hot etc.

I read that this was a good way to blow out the transistors?

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi portlandlay,
Choky is right. Only in some designs does a variac cause trouble. In general, I use one every time.

To reform your caps, you can increase the voltage in one day. Just watch the bias current in the output stages and DC offset voltages for signs of trouble while watching the caps. Look at the waveforms on the capacitors with an oscilloscope to determine if they are healthy.

-Chris

Official Court Jester
Joined 2003
Paid Member
portlandlay said:
Thanks Choky,