Preamp design resources.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have spent many months trying to find enough information to build a discrete preamp. I have come across plenty of information on power amps, but not much at all about preamps. I have found lots of designs, but I lack sufficient basic knowledge to attempt to build any of them. I am currently studying Self’s Audio Power Amplifier Design book (2nd edition). Probably, a lot of what I have found about power amps would also apply to preamps, but I am not in a position to know what the differences would be. My workspace is littered with bits and pieces of stuff that don’t work and I don’t have the savvy to work out where I went wrong. I suck at mathematics and I am not that gifted at electronics (obviously). Can anyone point out some resources where I can get good information – specifically about pre-amp design? (without going too much into EE territory).

Thanks Igreen.

I am familiar with DD - if you look around there(under his buffered gainclone), you will find some feedback from me re transistor combinations in the 3 bjt buffer (which i am currently using single ended with an OPA637 gain stage. It sounds pretty good by most standards and beats the socks off one of Nelson'e pre's that my friend built from a kit, but I am still looking for more "magic". An opamp, however good, is still an opamp and sounds like an opamp[sterile]).