looking for the simplest solid amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a novice at solid based power amp.the only once diy experience is diy a 2x30W classA amp with my uncle in 1992(my uncle work on all parts design and assembly,I work on hand-made pcb board using FeCl3 and a Oil pencil)
I want a simplest design,then I can work out it all by myself.any help are welcome and appreciative.

ciao
Zang

Disabled Account
Joined 2005
you can try one of nelson's designs without the CCS or X-configuration. usually they are nothing more than a mosfet, plus a few transistors.

Sound quality should be good for a small powerred application. If you want to go a little bit louder, you may want to switch into class AB then there are tons of designs to go after, but I like ESP's P3A, in either an EF or quasi output configuration.

Disabled Account
Joined 2005
PMA said:

that requires a pre-amp, which if combined is no simpler than a jlh. You may also try the PLH or the new cascoding amp from Nelson.

here is my entry. It outputs about 7v peak on 8ohm. R5/R6 are those little 12v xenon lamps - I actually used a peanut tube socket to house those little "tubes".

You cannot get simpler than this, :0

You can improve power output with a CCS as load but that messes up the simplicity which appears to be your desire here.

Attachments

• tlf9999.jpg
    tlf9999.jpg
    26.9 KB · Views: 902
tlf9999 said:

that requires a pre-amp, which if combined is no simpler than a jlh. You may also try the PLH or the new cascoding amp from Nelson.

here is my entry. It outputs about 7v peak on 8ohm. R5/R6 are those little 12v xenon lamps - I actually used a peanut tube socket to house those little "tubes".

You cannot get simpler than this, :0

You can improve power output with a CCS as load but that messes up the simplicity which appears to be your desire here.