Help needed repairing HK Citation 12

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have a Citation 12 Deluxe standing on my desk - with a faulty channel. The Faulty channel measures 42 volts over the output terminals (about the supply voltage) and visiually the PC board has a power resistor that shows signs of very intense heat.
I suspect that the resistor is the 10 ohm 1 watt resistor, named R15 in the attached schematic. The schematic is for the "normal" citation 12, but is corrosponds very well to the amplifier in front of me. The transistor names seems to be different though.
I have very little (almost none) experience with repairing amps, but I suspect that the power devices have blown.

Can any of you help me with: where to measure what, in order to determine what else have blown ?

How to calculate the bias value again if I change output devices ?

Which devices, available today can be used ?

Thanx in advance !

Cheers !
Hans

Attachments

• cit12delux.gif
    cit12delux.gif
    25.9 KB · Views: 606
Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Hans,
Check or just replace Q4, 5 and 8. Q3 may go bad due to age. Check R5 and R14 while you are there.

Bias current is measured across R16 and R17. Make it the same as the good channel for now. C4 should be replaced in both channels once you get it working. When bad, it will affect bass response and possibly the DC offset voltage. After replacing C4, if your DC offset is still high, match a pair of transistors and replace Q1 and Q2 - these must be matched.

The outputs (Q6 & 7) should be replaced, don't even bother checking them, same for the emitter resistors (R16 & 17). New heatsink grease and insulators. MJ15023 or equiv. should work fine. The faster devices may need more compensation in the event they oscillate. Once it's running, change the other electrolytic caps. That alone may solve an oscillation problem.

-Chris