Looking for first SS amp idea, have PS - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st August 2005, 04:20 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Looking for first SS amp idea, have PS

Hello, This is my first post to this forum. I've built a number of tube amps from scratch so I'm not a total newby but don't have any SS experiance. I already have a chassis and 36VDC power supply from a Oregon Audionics stereo amp. The power trans is a Western Transformers wti#1820/code#977 into a bridge rectifier and then to two Sangamo 15,000mfd at 60VDC caps. The power trans and the caps are fine and that's where I'm getting the 36VDC. Well, each cap has 18VDC across it. The heat sink has 4/channel Motorola 2N5630. The amp looks like a pro sound amp and I can't find any info on it except that the company's founder now works for Fosgate. Can anyone direct me to a proven DIY design that could make use of this PS and heatsink? I've been looking at the Krell thread and while I know that PS won't work for that amp I'm hoping that someone has board available for a similar amp project. All my speakers have fairly high eff so I don't need that much power.
Thanks in advance for any help, this is a very cool site, John.....
Old 1st August 2005, 04:41 AM   #2
Stocker is offline Stocker  United States
diyAudio Member

Do a search on this forum for "gainclone" and stand back.

If you don't mind the power waste, the Pass Labs forum has some high-quality, proven designs in the form of the Aleph and Aleph-X series.

Try those for a start.
Old 2nd August 2005, 09:03 AM   #3
diyAudio Member