Arc Welder Transformer used to power Amplifier

Hello I am new to this Forum and would like to know if anyone else is using a Arc Welder Transformer to power their projects.

mine is rated at 3000VA and is centre tapped with 28v/28v after rectification om the lower setting or 40v/40v on the higher setting.
i have been using the transformer for 5 months with no problems.

I driven class A's with it and it doesn't get hot only warm even after 8 hours of use.

i can carry the transformer myself and i do all my testing away from the family and when i finally put the transformer into my home cinema amplifier project i am building, it will be well shielded and insulated as the last thing i want to do is kill myself or one of my family.

I've also been tempted to this also,

since welding arcs have larger output voltages and currents as high as

300 amperes.

though very impractical......

and, just what Guru says welding arcs are not properly shielded and

some poor and maybe ineffecient cores that are used.

well, very tempting....... but not very recommendable:whazzat:

rgds,

hienrich

the Transformer I am using actually came from a small gasless MIG Welder I Made the mistake of buying as it wasn't really up to the job of doing the welding i wanted to do and when i lent it to my brother, he wrecked it burning out the drive motor and it sat in the shed for along time until i decided to see what voltage it would be giving out at the secondarys.

As for hum appearing at the speakers, there's no more ( Very Little you only hear it when the volume is turned all the way up and you place your ear next to a speaker.) hum when using the amplifier with a normal transformer.

And what vattage is your amp?

If you put a 200W amp on 3000W transformer, It will surely behave very well indeed, despite it is a welding one.

But you probably will have nearly the same results with 300-400W well made toroidal transformer made for this purpose, not welding.