A stupid idea

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was thinking of this idea the other day and I am no expert at amplifier design, but I can't think of any reason why this wouldn't work. For a high power amplifier design, what if it didn't have a transformer?

What if I took the 120V straight from the wall, rectified it, filtered it, and designed an amplifier around the resulting rail voltages. The end result would be a high power amplifier that would be cheaply build due to the lack of one of the most expensive parts, and it would also be smaller and lighter for easy transportation.

Would this be a stupid idea? I just figured that there would have to be something wrong with it if nobody has built one yet.

SY said:
:att'n:

Deathtrap. Deadly, deadly dangerous. Don't even think about it.

I've heard that too, Youd have (120Vx1.414)-.6=169V DC so 85V rails. I think that would mean more signifigant power disipation on the output stage (especially at lower volumes)if im correct....

Correct me if I'm wrong that tube amps often run at higher voltages? They have a transformer ect to limit current of course.

To elaborate a bit:

In a common amplifier with an isolation transformer, if the following failure modes occur, the worst that happens is you blow a bunch of transistors or fuses:

Power lead short to ground or chassis(forgot/overlooked in wiring)
Circuit failure leads to output swinging to one power rail
power rail shorted to output terminal (don't laugh it can happen)

In the proposed power supply topology, all these lead to mains voltages AND current capabilites on either the chassis or the speaker wires (or speaker chassis)

= death to touch an innocent-looking piece of kit.

avoid.

If transformer-isolation is not used for the power supply, then it must be used for each signal input and each speaker output due to safety issues. So, actually, there is no advantage in supressing power supply transformer.