Simple AMP Comments.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I am a Electronics student, its my first year so i am not that good. I have been experimenting with pSpice trying to design a simple amplifier.
I have made one that seems to work in pSpice but its not that good, linearity is not perfect and efficeny is about 40%.

I dont even know if it works at all.

Anyway here is the schematics, any comments would be nice!

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Hi Arte

For a start lose R17 completely and lift R16 off pin 1 (output pin) of the IC and instead connect it to the output point of the amp (junction of the MOSFETs).

Your MOSFETs are now in the chip/amp feedback loop which should cut the THD considerably. Of course this is a very simple basic amplifier but instructional. You may get almost 5W from it.

amplifierguru said:
Hi Arte

For a start lose R17 completely and lift R16 off pin 1 (output pin) of the IC and instead connect it to the output point of the amp (junction of the MOSFETs).

Your MOSFETs are now in the chip/amp feedback loop which should cut the THD considerably. Of course this is a very simple basic amplifier but instructional. You may get almost 5W from it.
´

AAA good! Didnt think about that.

A few questions:

How do can i calculate the Power of the amplifier?
Is it bad to use an IC instead of tranistors,the circuit gets SO much simpler?

Arte,

power is = Output Voltage (rms) squared/ load impedance

This is very compromised due to limited drive current from the 25K resistors and the Vgs losses of the MOSFETS limiting available swing. You could bootstrap or use current sources and add two drive transistors with inverted MOSFETS to reduce output stage losses. Or just raise the supplies.

And as far as I know, there is no commonly available OP-amp that works off +-35V power supply.