Neet to make a + 0 - 12dB software controllable line level amp.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
HI all,

I am new to playing in the audio / video world so forgive me if I ask dumb questions! .

Currently interfacing to a TI AIC23 ( http://focus.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/tlv320aic23b.pdf ) audio codec that has unbalanced consumer line level inputs and outputs.

What I need to do is make a PCB that will convert these 1Vrms I/O's to interface with (unbalanced) Professional line levels (+4dbu).

So I will need to PAD the input to the codec ( +4dbu Professional line level ----> -10dbv Consumer line level) right? 12db pad?
I am thinking of using the DS1808 for the attenuation.

Now I need to amplify the output of the codec (-10 dbv Consumer line level ----> +4dbu Professional line level) 12db amp.
Any ideas on whats good to use for a 12dB line level amp?

Here is the catch, I would like to be able to still also interface my AIC23 to consumer equipment or professional equipment and select the pad/amp via software control. So the DS1808 works out well for that, but I am having trouble figuring out what to use for a Software controllable 0-12dB amp!

Does anyone know of any ICs that may help me out to do this? maybe some digitally controlled pots?

I need to fit this circuitry on a 3" x 3" board to fit in the box.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated

thanks

-Bill

Im now thinking a simple OPA627 for the line level amp...

Whats a good way to be able to control the gain via SW?

Is it posible to be able to select from a gain of 1, or 4?

Will the op amp operate at a gain of 1? or is there always a gain greater that 1?

thanks

paulb said:
A relay would be the simplest. Small double pole reed relay should do it. Have it switch in different resistor values to choose your gain.
Yes you can have an opamp with a gain of 1.