tripping - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th March 2005, 05:54 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default tripping

hi guys newbie here was wonderin if anybody could help me, i dont even know if this is in the right section, i`ve got a citronic ppx-900 amplifier which trips the mains sometimes when you switch it on, if it doesn`t trip the mains it works fine, whats causing this? is it the inrush of power on initial turn on thats causin the trip, is the amp safe to use? any help wold be much appreciated
Old 28th March 2005, 06:05 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Jan Dupont
Does it have the tendency to "trip" the mains when it has been off for longer times, or is it when turned on again shart after last use ???
Old 28th March 2005, 07:02 PM   #3
K-amps is offline K-amps  United States
diyAudio Member

Jan if the PSU has bleeder's does it really matter? I mean unless he Re-powers in a couple of secs, chances are the caps are discharged (assuming the designer had enough sense to install bleeders... )

If I were to guess, you need a softstart... again you need to investigate, I do not know the size of your amp's PSU nor am I aware of the wiring at your home.

Try switching on with a 250 to 500 watt bulb in series with the mains of the amp, if it still trips.... get a new house.
Old 28th March 2005, 07:30 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

K-amps:
As I see the problem, I donīt think they have designed the ppx-900 so it has fail trips As to my knowledge, they build very reliable amps.....

What I ment was that if one of the big caps in the supply has gone bad, it could trigger a much higher inrush current than normal!! The reason I mention this is, that I have experienced this my self on an old NAD amp