newbie post, but hopefully not a newbie question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
OK, I've been racking my brains over terms and words that I've been reading in alot of the posts I've searched through so I ask for your patience.

Little background... I'm pretty new to all this. I don't have any formal training so I pickup what I can from friends and forums like this one. I've built a bass guitar but I don't own an amp (yet). To play it, I've been running it through the phono jack of an old Onkyo stereo amplifier. I can see myself blowing out the speakers if I turn it up too much :)

Here's my DIY question. I've got some LM383 ICs lying around and was wondering if I could use those to build a preamp with a line-level (proper term usage?) output so I could run the signal into my line-in jack on my PC? I'm looking to record my "noise" onto my PC and mess with it there.

If a similar thread exists on this site, I apologize. I blame my lack of understanding which terms to search on.

Thanks
Tim