Please Help! PSU Question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th March 2005, 11:59 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Please Help! PSU Question

Its my first time out trying to build a PSU and I really would like some feedback on the following, are they safe? Will they work well? etc. etc.

Click the image to open in full size.

I need to power 3 amps from a toroid.

Any advice would be appreciated, I can then go back implement the suggestions and then repost the new design ready for further commment and suggestions.
Old 20th March 2005, 12:49 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to DigitalJunkie
The bottom Pic looks good to me..pretty standard setup..

What's up with the "floating" caps on the first pic?
Old 20th March 2005, 01:00 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by DigitalJunkie
What's up with the "floating" caps on the first pic?
That would be my mistake.

I'll go back and fix it.

Are the rectifiers wired correctly?

EDIT: Fixed:
Old 20th March 2005, 01:11 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

What I'm trying to do is to adapt certain aspects of this design by Dejan Veselinovic, into a 3 channel version.

Am I heading in the right direction with the above wiring diagram? I know its missing his RC filter but I thought that would make the diagram look even more messy.
Old 20th March 2005, 01:21 AM   #5
diyAudio Member

Just for simplicity, couldn't you use a bus bar to respectively tie the positive and negative supplies together?

I'm learning myself but it seems to me you're simply tripling the capacitance to accomodate the extra channels. Do you really need to tie each channel to a different cap?
Old 20th March 2005, 01:38 AM   #6
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by ultrachrome