Want To Build My First Hi-Fi Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all, I have been reading some of the posts here and have decided to build an amp for a TL Sonotube subwoofer I am planing to add to my system. I am currently using a PAS400 amp for my main speakers and want to add some bass for HT. I am an electronic engineer and have built RF linier power amps in the past so I have some experince with projects like this.

Can anyone recomend a good design for a first project? I don't want to try to design my own at this point. I have been looking at the Leach Superamp and TIM-Amp designs and they don't look to dificult and give a decent power output. I am looking for about 250W-350W to drive this sub. I am also thinking about building another one with 2 channels after I do this sub amp to replace the PAS400. It is a decent amp for mobile DJ work but I want a better sounding amp for my home setup. I have even been toying with building one with 5 Leach TIM-Amps for HT with a 5.1 processor feading it from the DVD player, but this might be to much.

I have the setup to etch my own pcb's witch is why I am looking at the Leach amps since he has kindly provided the pcb pattern on his site.

Any help on this would be greatly appreacated.

Thanks
Kerry

A bridged pair of low TIM amps will meet your power requirements handily, although you might want to consider Jens Rasmussen's extended Leach for reliability if you want to use it for PA. Either way use plenty of heat sink.

I used mine bridged to drive my sub for a while. My sub gets 6 db of boost at 24 Hz. Using a 1KVA transformer and 39,000 uf per 58V rail I almost never ran out of power. Some very loud LFE heavy movies challenged it, but that's about it.