Bridge rectifiers in PSU - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th August 2002, 11:02 PM   #1
Speek is offline Speek  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

Default Bridge rectifiers in PSU

Hi! This is my first post on this forum. I'm a complete newbie to electronics, so please bear with me :-)

I've just received the PCB from Rod Elliott for the P3A amp. The PSU will be the Project4 PSU: http://sound.westhost.com/project04.htm. I'm now making a list for ordering the components. Rod mentions that the two bridge rectifiers should be rated 35A. The company where I'm ordering the parts doesn't have that. Maximum rating they sell is 25A. Would that be enough? I'll be using a 300VA +-30Vsec. trafo. How to calculate the rating for the bridge rectifier? TIA,

Wim
Old 15th August 2002, 11:15 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to Peter Daniel
How much capacitance are you using, because that will influence longevity of your bridge.
“Do something really well. See how much time it takes. It might be a product, a work of art, who knows? Then give it away cheaply, just because you feel that it should not cost so much, even if it took a lot of time and expensive materials to make it.” - JC
Old 15th August 2002, 11:16 PM   #3
skaara is offline skaara  Slovenia
diyAudio Member

It will be enough, but put it on the heatsink, because it will be warmer than 35A model would be.. You can calculate the current drawn with ohms law (I = U / R)
Old 15th August 2002, 11:35 PM   #4
Speek is offline Speek  Netherlands
diyAudio Member