Leach Super Amp Pcb Re-Design (LSAPRD)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'll hope Jens will share his work with the Leach super amp with us all - at least on his own webside!

I'm no expert in eletronics, but - as the "skin dead book keeper" I am - I can follow a cooks recipe. The last 1½ year, I have learnt a lot in this forum, and I consult it every night.

I have build Jens' model of ESP's P3A - excelent sounding amp, but I was missing a bit of power. So what to do - called Jens and asked for his first leach amp version.

Sadly his was lost in a hardisc cash, so I build it with prof. Leach's board (made by myself). I have build 4 ordinary Low Tim amps and 2 super amps. All 6 with TO3's - Shure: I just hate wires!!! I had a problem with one of them, it run hot after a few minuts. What to do - I wrote to Jens. As the freindly person he is, he offered me at once his help. Before I got to Jens, I found the problem - where I live, we had a disaster i a firework factory, and the presior from the explosion had damaged my tweterband in my speakers (http://www.magnetostatic.com/). The tweterband was shorted, so the amp was working in something like 1 ohm or less. A new band in the speaker, and every thing was working - The Leach amp's sound wonderful!

Still - I want to build more, and I hate wires, so Jens pleace - Keep up the good working!

:)

Hej Terry!

No I don't hear any diff. in the sound between the super amp and the Low Tim amp.

Neigher do I fell any diff. in the output, but the also sit on the same 40V-0-40V/500VA transformer with 60mF caps.

I have a plan of putting in an other transform of 20V-0-20V/500VA in serie with the first, and ad som 100V caps. In this way I can get (I think) about +-85 Volt for the super amp.