Acoustic Research Amplifier (solid state) help needed

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
OK, I searched the forum on this one, but didn't found anything, so here goes...

Someone threw an AR amplifier in my lap as part of a deal with a pair of AR-speakers I bought.

The amp has a problem in the R channel when output goes over 20%, esp. at lower frequencies and low impedances (4 ohms).

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Input is sine on top, output from speker terminal.

Questions:
A: Where can I find a service manual / schematics?
B: Anyone seen this before, clues?
C: Is this amp even worth salvaging?

I have some experience in tube-amps, but less in solid state. Ironically It's rather simple to find documentation on old tube-amps and new solid-states. But in between those...

I think this was a good quality amplifier for the time; possibly
a quasi-complementary output stage, may have been
direct-coupled.

The Classic Speakers Page (http://www.****nal.net/speakers/)
had schematics, but appears to be completely offline at the
moment.

I'd check power supply first, especially low-voltage supplies
and any regulated supplies. It's been my experience that
electrolytic caps in those supplies are unreliable, going open-
circuit or high impedance.

If the output stage is capacitor-coupled, check those capacitors
as well.

After that, check the driver and output transistors.

ROTFL!... Seriously: I have already 'scanned' that site. The AR amps there are too modern. I have found one copy of a manual at:

W7FG

It was in poor condition and no schematics. I have not yet received it so I can't tell.

Yes, there is a large multicap. Same thing as the old Dynacos; may have to be replaced.

Since it seems to be so har finding data on this one, maybe that is telling the tale? It is rare and should be salvaged?