dvd player tweaking hurdles - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th January 2005, 05:47 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default dvd player tweaking hurdles

I've got a panasonic s35 that I bought with the intention of tweaking. I'm fairly new to this hobby, so am just trying to get the ball rolling. First thing I did was to take off the cover to see what I am able to get at. It looks accessible at first glance, but when I start removing screws I see things are a bit more interconnected than I first thought and that I may not be able to get the PCB out to work on it.

How do people usually deal with this scenario? I have thought of taking a Dremel to the bottom of the case to allow access to the bottom side of the circuit board. Is this commonly done? I am just wanting to replace the PS caps first. I don't know what to look for when considering replacing the clock, etc.
Old 7th January 2005, 06:50 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default dvd player tweaking hurdles

timsch75, "DON'T DO IT"! First of all, even if you suceed at completing
the mod., you will regret canabalizing the case. But then,
maybe you won't. However, one thing is almost certain, you
will have metal shavings "throughout" the PCB. And there is
a good chance that you will hack a solder run or, connection
somewhere and maybe never know it. My advice would be
for you to take alittle more time to study the assembly and
the approach may just come to you..
Old 7th January 2005, 02:22 PM   #3
diyAudio Member