Bias info with regard to Denon Amps

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there folks

I'm a newbie electroniciker type chap and looking at playing with my old denon amp (which I can't find any diagrams for).
I'm a mechanical engineer and fairly handy with my hands (no pun intended) and want to start looking at the biasing of the amp and replacing the preset pots etc.

I was reading some stuff regading biasing/checking/adjusting the bias settings on the output stages but after having a look inside my amp I'm getting a bit confused. Let me lay it down:

DENON 480r 50 W amp A/B design (I think). Not a particularly good amp in it's day, and hence a good start for my endevours.

Now looking at the output stage, we have (for each channel):

2SC4208a small transistors that are positioned in a hole drilled in the heatsink (not physically attached). The only preset pots in the whole amp seem to be attached to the collector of these transistors and the current thus measured is miniscule (microamps) with no input signal. Also seems to be a bit different for each side.

Then we have 1 each of 2SA1490 and 2SC3854 power transistors each side screwed onto the heatsink.

There is not any pot for DC offset control, guess it is done elctronically. (offset is negligable anyway, so I guess it is working as well).

So I guess my questions would be what to look for/do when adjusting the bias?
Should the current through the pots for each small transistor 2SC4208a be identical? Or has it been set this way to finetune another part of the circuit?

When adjusting the bias for the small transistors via the pots, am I only adjusting their outputs or does it cascade down the line to the Power transistors? At present the power transistors are both showing very identical idle voltages for each channel.

Any other advice or assistance much, much appreciato.

Cheers

Matt

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member