Yet another OPA2134-based headphoneamp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th December 2004, 02:02 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Yet another OPA2134-based headphoneamp

I have a pair of AKG 240Monitor that could use a good amplifier. I would like to create my own amp using BB OPA2134, for a couple of reasons. They sound good (I think), they are capable of driving 600Ohm, but most important... I have NO experience with OP-amps. I'm fairly new to analogue-electronics and the only thing I have built so far is a sweet sounding tube-amp. I think it's time I got the hang of OP-amp now as well. I've been looking a lot at this amp: http://raymondaudio.nl/projects/project7/project7.html but in order to learn more about the basics, I would like to build my own from scratch.

I've studied the pdf-documentation for the OP-amp. The maximun powersupplyvoltage seems to be +-18VDC, and to get the most out of it that's pretty much the voltage I'm going to run it from. There is a current-limit of +-40mA but in order to get 40mA at 600Ohm I seem to need 24V so the current-limit shouldn't be any problem as far as I can see. But there are a couple of things that puzzle me. In the spec-sheet it says that the maximun output voltage at 600Ohms is +-2.5V. Is that correct? How can I get more output-voltage? The other thing is the gain, but I'm going to read more about it so see if I acn figure that one out myself. A few pointers in the right direction would be appreciated though.
Old 10th December 2004, 02:27 PM   #2
hjelm is offline hjelm  Sweden
diyAudio Member

The output voltage is V+ -2.5 positive and
v- +2.5 negative so for the positive it is 18(if you feed it with that)-2.5 =15.5 Vout peak at 600ohm. 31V swing.