Help with amp circuit.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all, i have made an amplifier of a circuit i found in the net, the site where i found it say it can deliver 260w at 8R load (the URL is: http://www.pablin.com.ar/electron/circuito/audio/amp260/index.htm is a spanish website) everything looked good until i tryed it, the problem is that the sound is very low (suposing the amp delivers 260w), and it sound very distorted. I rechecked the componentes lots of times, and also replaced the transistors twice but i had no sucess, the only thing im thinking now is if the circuit is right, im new in electronics so i don't understand very much. Maybe someone can just fast check the circuit schematic an tell me if it have some sense at least (i suspect about the 47r 5W resistors). Any help would be very appreciated.

Hey Zionz,

I had to rush out before so my answer was too brief.

This cct is just plain bad and incomplete with too many errors to fix.

Honestly remove the good parts from the board and use them in a different design.

I'm not one of the smarter people in this forum but I can still spot a bad design.

Check out other designs in this forum including my final version in the thread "power amp under development".

Sorry

Good Luck & Cheers

That circuit is a bit outdated but it should work fine after correcting a couple of mistakes included in the schematic :

- This 10 ohm 5W resistor [the one in series with the output] must have a 1 to 5uH inductor of in paralell with it. To make such an inductor wind about 10 turns of enamelled copper wire [or plain wire] around a 1cm former. The wire should be of enough gauge to pass speaker current with negligible voltage drop. A jumper of wire should also work as a quick fix but the amplifier may get unstable

- Those 47 ohms resistors are actually 0.47 ohms 5W resistors and should be replaced

Some additional notes :