HELP! Differential Input Circuit - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd September 2004, 05:18 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to mtnickel
Default HELP! Differential Input Circuit

Hi there. I'm fairly new to the DIY scene especially with the electronics side.

My problem here is car audio related, but i figured the viewers of this thread would know the most.

I'm getting engine noise in my car due to poor ground isolation in my amplifier. I'd like to add differential inputs to the amp, or at least just outside of it.

What is happening is I have a potential from the rear of the car to the front and current flows through the RCA shield. This dirty, ripple filled current makes noise in the signal and is amplified as whine.
Transformers filter this fairly good, but result in very bad frequency response.

My problem is most articles i've found are for balanced inputs. Understanding the CMRR in those is fairly straight forward and all the noise rejection that comes with it.

I however don't know how to make one for an unbalanced source.
The output signal ground of the differencial circuit must have a very high impedance to stop any current flow.
Any help, links, direction on this subject would be sooo very much appreciated. Thanks to all who contribute.

Sincerely,
new Diy'er Mark Nickel
Old 23rd September 2004, 06:47 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default Possible Solution

Okay...after looking around the posts here for a while, i've come up with a possible solution...

A Burr DRV134 unbalanced to balanced line driver, straight into a INA134 which is a balanced to unbalanced converter. The INA134 states it has ground loop isolation. So i think this sort of thing may work.