HELP! Differential Input Circuit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there. I'm fairly new to the DIY scene especially with the electronics side.

My problem here is car audio related, but i figured the viewers of this thread would know the most.

I'm getting engine noise in my car due to poor ground isolation in my amplifier. I'd like to add differential inputs to the amp, or at least just outside of it.

What is happening is I have a potential from the rear of the car to the front and current flows through the RCA shield. This dirty, ripple filled current makes noise in the signal and is amplified as whine.
Transformers filter this fairly good, but result in very bad frequency response.

My problem is most articles i've found are for balanced inputs. Understanding the CMRR in those is fairly straight forward and all the noise rejection that comes with it.

I however don't know how to make one for an unbalanced source.
The output signal ground of the differencial circuit must have a very high impedance to stop any current flow.
Any help, links, direction on this subject would be sooo very much appreciated. Thanks to all who contribute.

Sincerely,
new Diy'er Mark Nickel

Possible Solution

Okay...after looking around the posts here for a while, i've come up with a possible solution...

A Burr DRV134 unbalanced to balanced line driver, straight into a INA134 which is a balanced to unbalanced converter. The INA134 states it has ground loop isolation. So i think this sort of thing may work.

I'm like a true beginner with this, so bare with me.

The Vcc and V-, can this be my 12-15 VDC source in the car? Or do i need actual -5 v and +5 v minimum. I'm worried about the cleanliness of my DC source too. perhaps a cheap DC-DC converter with 12v+/- outputs would be in order.

If anyone could give a beginner a hand here, it'd be greatly appreciated.