Complete beginner; looking to start.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm basically a beginner and looking for an intro into hobby electronics. I don't even really know much about being an audiophile. Right now I have a sony receiver, megacd player (don't use), htpc (all my cds are on it now-lossless), tv and dvd. I want to eventually have my own homebuilt system with as much made by me as possible. I have very basic skills in electronics mostly just with the 555 chip. But I know how to solder onto pcbs. I probably need some refresher in electronics any suggestions for books or ebooks with the basic info I need? (basic electronics or modelling)

I checked out the Slone book 80 audiophile projects from the library and it was a little over my head. I am looking for a good first project but I don't know where to start. I want something a little more involved than a cmoy headphone amp (which I'll probably build).

I was thinking maybe first building some sort of switching preamp with a stepped attenuator. Is this a good start? Just something that I can plug my tv, xbox, dvd, computer audio/airport express into and maybe output into my receiver until I can build a proper power amp. I'm just looking to get my feet wet and build up some experience and skills. Is there something else I should build first? Can someone give me references for a few nice preamp designs?

Or should I build a 2 channel power amp first and use the receiver as the preamp? Would this be easier? The problem with this is I have no idea how to select a design. Again can someone name a design that I should look at? Or a book with a trusted design. I want it to be easy to build but sound as good as I can without having to do massive customizations. What info would you need to better help me pick a design?