Current Source <- how to optimize?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Current Source <- how to optimize?

To the audio gurus:

I'm just learning audio circuit design. For the input stage of a power amplifier, I need a constant current source. I know I can use a simple resistor, but this will not be optimal I guess.

The picture below shows the simplest possible approach. How can this be improved / optimized (only regarding sound)?

Attachments

• temp.jpg
    temp.jpg
    6.5 KB · Views: 2,120
I prefer LEDs as voltage references in a CCS. Noise and temp. coeff. are better than a zener or string of "normal" diodes.

A simple current source for the reference element can be built using a FET and a resistor. If you need two current sources, one on each rail, you can of course use this for both sides.

Generally, a high hfe for T1 improves performance. A darlington might help. The 2SA1376 is a good choice, I think.

Here's the current source from my preamp which I like very much:

Attachments

• ccs_pre.jpg
    ccs_pre.jpg
    7.3 KB · Views: 2,076
does it REALY matter?

I'm not for sure if it makes a lot of difference, I just started designing my first amp.
It only appears to me that the current source I will use gives best results so I think it's the best choice, and beside 4 resistors one cap and two transistors is not the end of the world.
It matters slightly in psrr and cmrr so I stick to my choice.

kind regards, jef

Re: Current Source <- how to optimize?

EE said:
To the audio gurus:

I'm just learning audio circuit design. For the input stage of a power amplifier, I need a constant current source. I know I can use a simple resistor, but this will not be optimal I guess.

The picture below shows the simplest possible approach. How can this be improved / optimized (only regarding sound)?
You can check some of my stuff but if you use these searchwords

current source