Rane 4th order SVF - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th June 2004, 11:32 PM   #1
nuppe is offline nuppe  Sweden
diyAudio Member

Default Rane 4th order SVF

Hi
I was just wondering, has anyone built an active filter based on the design in this Rane article?

I've smacked together a quick test setup (with R=10k). I played around with a scope and a tone generator, and the filter seems to work, but theres alot of (really) high frequency noise at the LP out (thats not at the input to start with).

I used the schematic as pictured on page 4 with L-R alignment. It's a breadboard setup, so i didn't expect miracles, but the noise really swamps the LP. I'm a newbie at electronics, so i don't know what to do about it, but i guess i've builtin an antenna or an oscillator somewhere in the circuit.

Could someone either give me a clue about how to correct it, or maybe point me to some info i could read up on?
Would a buffer at the input and outputs help?

Any suggestion is welcomed.

/Andreas
Old 11th June 2004, 12:50 AM   #2
Eva is offline Eva  Spain
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Eva
This seems like a parastitistic oscillation and/or a wiring mistake issue

I've been using this state-variable 4th-order circuit in the custom crossover of my 3-way all-horn-loaded experimental system for several years and it works just fine. Even with 105-108dB/W efficiencies, noise is barely audible at 1m from the tweeter with about 27dB amplifier gain applied to crossover outputs. As opamps I used LM833 [not outstanding but with good specs/price relationship] and R values are around 10K