What do you think about this amp schematic? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th May 2002, 10:15 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question What do you think about this amp schematic?

Hello all!

At the moment I'm trying to design my first amp.
Although I'm a bit experienced in electronics design (especially digital and microcontroller), I've no experience in amplifier design.

Please tell me your impressions about the
attached schematic!

Some parts have no value yet because this is only the first draft.

Thanks!!
Patrick
Attached Images
File Type: png amp-1a.png (10.1 KB, 2147 views)
Old 12th May 2002, 05:45 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hello Patrick

Your design is very good, I just suggest minor changes :

Differential input amplifier must be dc balanced : R14 must be same value as R12, 22 k. And R1 must be adjusted so that the dc current in T1 and T2 is the same (1.5 mA).

Before this adjustement, it can be a good idea to insert a small resistor in the emitter of T5, I suggest 68 ohms, in order to improve the linearity of this stage.

C4 seems to be very high, 1 nF is sufficient.

BC546B offers poor security margin with Vce limit, I suggest 2N5551 or equiv, for T1, T2 and T3. If you experience some noise problems with the input stage, the right ansver is to design a cascode configuration, with BC546B *and* 2N5551

It may be necessary to connect a small capacitor across R12 (100 pf...), and a resistor in series in the base of T2 (same as R15).

>>> If your amp is biased in AB class :