Have some parts .. need suggestions..

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I work for a company that makes amplifers for life alarm systems. They are terrible sounding with low response and lots of distortion 70v/25v transformer. I have several dead ones to use for parts and would like some suggestions, since transformers, big caps and heatinks are some of the more expensive parts, would like to use these. I could also savange up the 3055 NPNs, However these tend to be blown so no matter if the wont be used.

Transformer 22-0-22
Heatsink holds 2 TO-3s
Caps are 64vdc 5kuF

I would like to keep my first project relatively simple, I am an electronics tech. ,but havent done component level troubleshooting in at least a decade. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• amp parts.jpg
    amp parts.jpg
    22.1 KB · Views: 186
Just be careful of the brand of 2n3055. There are lots of really cheap ones available made specifically for switching and I've not had luck using these to make anything that sounded remotely good. As you said, the PS Transformer, caps and heatsinks are the biggest investment. Use these but find some different output transistors (IMO). Transistors are cheap comparativley speaking. As DX pointed out, Rod Elliot's site is a good starting place. Many DIYers cut their teeth on his designs. Also The Zen Amp is another good place to start. (www.passdiy.com).

-Dozuki

You probably want something like this:

http://sound.westhost.com/project3a.htm

22-0-22AC translates to about ±33V after you rectify and filter it (with a 7% regulation transformer). Unless the 22V is no load, in any event you should be OK.

How many watts was the 70V/25V amplifier?

You will probably need one transformer per channel, and two filter caps. If you want to drive a 4 ohm load I would use four filter caps per channel.