BUZ-amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
I once pulled a pair of complementary BUZ900/905 lateral MOSFETs from a scrapped subwoofer amplifier and still haven’t found a good circuit to put them into. I have looked at some of the Jean-Marc Plantefève designs but personaly would prefer to use BJT input to JFETs. So as I am not good at all to make a design of my own, I did some copy and paste from circuits of others. Here is what I ended up. So to all circuit wizards -please help me out - is that feasible design or should better I forget it?

Regards,
Argo

Attachments

• mosfet amp.jpg
    mosfet amp.jpg
    60 KB · Views: 1,884
Hi Argo

Sorry, I'm not qualified to comment on the circuit you posted but how about using the BUZ in a JLH MOSFET design. There have been several published over the years that might be suitable. email me if you are interested and I will send you the schematics.

ps Did you complete the JLH Class-AB? If so I would be interested in the results as I have another constructor who is considering building this circuit.

Geoff

I never tried a similar design, but for me it looks promising.
Could result in a fast but at the same time stable design.
The output stage seems somehow close to a ZEN....
If you find the right bias... promising....

Hm, bias might be critical in reality.
In fact I am not sure if your DC bias of the output stage
will show a satisfying temperature behaviour.

If you observe issues with oscillation/ringing, then my proposals would be:
1. Make the slowest pole more dominant and more linear.
==> caps from gate to drain of the Mosfets.
2. Shift phase of the feedback signal towards earlier.
==> cap parallel to the feedback resistor.

Bye and looking forward to your results (if you go for this amp)
Markus

Geoff,

how good to see you here again.