Custom pre-driver amplifier circuit.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone. I am a newbie on this forum. I am posting here to receive some feedback as to how my custom pre-driver circuit can be improved. This circuit works but it suffers from hum although this goes as soon as there is an input signal is present. Connecting a mobile phone as a sound source does not produce a mains hum. However, certain tracks play with significant noise.

I think, the solution lies in making a more complex input stage. I have seen some circuits that even employ positive feedback through a 10 Ohm resistor that is connected to ground and then to both the non-inverting and inverting inputs of the input differential pair but this is done indirectly.

Attachments

• custom-pre-driver-circuit.jpg
    custom-pre-driver-circuit.jpg
    447.4 KB · Views: 461
Joined 2011
I have seen some circuits that even employ positive feedback through a 10 Ohm resistor
that is connected to ground and then to both the non-inverting and inverting inputs of the input
differential pair but this is done indirectly.

The 10R isn't for positive feedback, it just breaks the ground loop that causes the hum.
That's just what you need. It goes from the input RCA ground shell (with no other connections to it)
to the audio circuit common. Avoiding Ground Loop Hum

Last edited:
Your hum might be oscillation. Your input resistor should be 10k (right first time) to match the feedback resistor.
Add a 100pF capacitor across it to keep impedance low at high frequencies.
Possibly include a470 ohm to 1k resistor in series with the input for the same reason, this creates an RC filter with even more HF suppression.
Your 10pF capacitor to suppress oscillation is not large enough without emitter degeneration in the input stages. Either add 100 ohms in series with each input transistor emitter or make the capacitor 100pF for starters.