Newbie Here

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Howdy,

I'm a retired analog IC designer who has finally found the time to play around with an interest in audio. I just found this forum, and suspect that I can learn a lot from you folks.

I've made a first cut at an all-bipolar power amplifier using LTspice. I've run into the problem of choosing various commercially available transistors that have Spice models. How do audio designers generally go about choosing them?

What is a "CFA" amplifier?

Alan

Hi alanF00
Look at the web sites of the big manufacturers e.g. ST, ON Semi and Diodes (zetex transistors). They usually provide links to their audio power transistors and then to SPICE models.
ON Semi models have not always been the most reliable, they seem to have outsourced the modelling to a third party which worked from the data sheet limits. As you no doubt know we need typical as well as worst case models. So it is well worth checking each device you choose individually in test circuits to see if you think the model is correct, first.
I suspect many on here don't do that though ... I'm guilty too until things don't seem right.

Thanks, huggygood!

john_ellis wrote:

Hi alanF00
Look at the web sites of the big manufacturers e.g. ST, ON Semi and Diodes (zetex transistors). They usually provide links to their audio power transistors and then to SPICE models.

I'll do that. So far, I've looked at the offerings of the big distributers like Mouser and Digikey, but been baffled at the wide variety of devices.

ON Semi models have not always been the most reliable, they seem to have outsourced the modelling to a third party which worked from the data sheet limits.
So I've gathered. I stumbled on the Cordell models by a circuitous route several days ago.