oscillating...always oscillating - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Solid State

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th April 2004, 12:21 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to WoulYaShassu
Default oscillating...always oscillating

Alright, so I designed this simple symmetrical small signal amplifier and I can't for the life of me get it to stop oscillating. Image of circuit is attached; any ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: png hpa1_1.png (5.3 KB, 332 views)
Old 8th April 2004, 12:52 AM   #2
Magura is offline Magura  Denmark
diyAudio Member

Sure, I got a great idea!!!

Attach the image

Magura
Old 8th April 2004, 01:16 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

My bad (obviously I'm new at this)
Attached Images
File Type: png hpa1_1.png (5.3 KB, 204 views)
Old 8th April 2004, 04:06 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

okay, I guess I can't figure out how to upload an image, so here's a link to the circuitClick the image to open in full size.
Old 8th April 2004, 07:45 AM   #5
sajti is offline sajti  Hungary
diyAudio Member

This circuit has some problem. If You use this VAS stage, You can't put current mirror over the input stages. Replace them with simple resistors!
Is oscillation still exist, use compensation (c-b capacitors for Q10, and Q11), or use emitter degeneration resistors for the input stage, or resistors between the base of the outputs and the ground. The last two solution reduce the open loop gain.

sajti
Old 8th April 2004, 08:01 AM   #6
diyAudio Member

I agree. There is too much OL gain. The closed loop gain is 1x; it basically is a buffer. Do you want that? If you want gain, attenuate the feedback path, that will also decrease loop gain and increase stability.

Jan Didden
Old 8th April 2004, 08:07 AM   #7
diyAudio Member