Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

How to tell if this amp is in class A or AB ???
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th November 2017, 08:51 PM   #1
piz1 is offline piz1  Italy
diyAudio Member

Default How to tell if this amp is in class A or AB ???

First of all, I'm sorry for my poor english.
In the last month I've learned a lot about power amplifiers by reading books like "High-Power Audio Amplifer Construction Manual" by Slone, and many others by Douglas Self etc..
I graduated from a technical school so I know a little about designing an amp and how the several classes work, but i have a big doubt: I designed a circuit like this and I'm pretty sure that it isnt operating in class-b. Let me explain: I first started designing a Single-end amp (that operate in class-a) then in order to increase the efficency I added a second transistor which changed the output stage in a push-pull one. The highly biased transistor makes "cross-over distortion" appear (and consequently switch to class-b) only when you quadruplicate the value of R1 and R2. So by now (with this value) i'm pretty sure that the output stage operate in class A or AB but i don't know how tell if it is still in A and when it switch to AB.

[R3 and R4<1 Ohm, R5 is the speaker and the Op amp are buffer linked to the Volt amplification stage]
[Note that the arrow in Q2 is reversed by mistake]
Attached Images
File Type: png Circuit.PNG (17.6 KB, 461 views)

Last edited by piz1; 9th November 2017 at 10:16 PM. Reason: Error in schematics
Old 10th November 2017, 12:14 AM   #2
Lazy Cat is offline Lazy Cat  Slovenia
diyAudio Member

What you show is nonsense, better make Class A like this
Attached Images