Sony STR-K502P won't turn on

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Folks - hoping for some help. Have a Sony STR-K502P, used it for years as a 5.1 surround sound. Upgraded and its sat in the garage for 3-4yrs, now i'd like to use it to power some speakers just for background music, and it won't turn on.

I tried the 'reset' instructions, but no joy there. I got myself a multimeter, took the lid off, but have no idea what to do. I'm not experienced at all with circuit boards - but i'm hoping there's a couple of basics someone could talk me through, just to see if there's a simple/easy fix?

For now, I checked the fuse - the only fuse I could find, which seemed fine. I stuck the multimeter into where the power cord meets the board, and got 115v, so I guess that tells me the cord is good. I removed the fuse, plugged the power cord in, and tried the multimeter on either side of the fuse contacts, and got a big fat 0.

Any simple stuff in layman's language I can look for/try??

Really appreciate any advice,
Matt

All modern remote controlled electronics need to have a standby power supply in order to supply a voltage in order for the remote to operate. Checking for the stby voltage is easy. Look for a connector marked CNP912, try to measure +5.6VDC on pins 1 and 2, 1 is ground. The connector should be on a small board close to the power cord.

Craig

You did measure with the unit plugged in correct?

Find D914 and D915 and measure the AC voltage on the anode of each, the end with the arrow head. Put your meter is ACV mode and put a lead on each diode, I'm guessing you should read 4-5VAC or so, it won't be much. This will tell us if the little stby transformer is working.

Craig