First amp ever, symmetrical and with EC

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey.

At the moment, I am an electronic engineer student, and I just finished my 3rd semester. So, there are still a lot of things that I don’t really understand, hence this post.

I want to design my own power amplifier. It is a pretty good exercise and there is something special about have a setup that I have designed.

So, the amp. The transistors I am using is chosen only be course I have access to them at the university. If this works in the real world, then I will redesign the amp and source some better transistors.
I really like the idea about a symmetrical amp, intuitively it seems right to me that the amp has the same capabilities for rising and falling edges. About the cascodes, I have just learnt about them, and well… it also seems right to me, to use a topology that reduces distortion. The output stage is simply stolen from Hawksford

So… I am hoping that someone will tell me if there is something really stupid in the design. Or give some pointers towards improvements. Before I build a prototype.

schematic.PNG

Joined 2011
Paid Member
Cascode bias diode D1 makes me uncomfortable.

If there exists any ripple, noise, or output-current-related voltage modulation on the positive supply rail, diode D1 puts that noise on the base of the cascode transistors. I would much, MUCH prefer to reference the cascode base nodes to either (a) signal ground; or (b) tail node of differential input pair.

Hey.

At the moment, I am an electronic engineer student, and I just finished my 3rd semester. So, there are still a lot of things that I don’t really understand, hence this post.

I want to design my own power amplifier. It is a pretty good exercise and there is something special about have a setup that I have designed.