Technics SU-A808 triping

Hi Folks.

This is my first post to this forum. So it's nice to meet you all.

I have a Technics SU-A808 which sounds great most of the time. But sometimes the safety circuit kicks-in and resets the amplifier. Then it comes back on and works like normal again.

Now I'm an Electronics Design engineer by trade, but not in audio. By business is Temperature & Humidity Measurement and Logging.

I puchased the Technics Service Manual online, thinking it would give lots of information. But apart from the circuit and a parts list, it's lacking good description.

The fault occurs when cold or hot. I have heated with a hair dryer and it doesn't trigger the error, and cooled with freezer spray and no change.

I have removed the board, and re-soldered the SVI3205B Power Amp Modules. The soldering looks very dry and cracked, and I thought this was the issue. But it made no difference.

Both main rails look ok at -50 and +50V.

I guess the safety circuit is tripping because there is to much dc on the speaker output.

The manual talks about adjusting the amplifer so output voltage. This is done by injecting a signal of 1kHz, 100mV in to the tuner input. Set Volume to MAX and adjust VR203 (Lch) and VR204 (Rch) for 14.0Vac +/- 0.2V. But I don't think this is effecting the dc output level, just setting up the correct input level to the amp.

When the trip occurs it can happen a couple of times in a row, but something many hours between. To I can't see any errors.

I guess I could discount the speakers, then disable to safety circuit, and when the error occurs try and check the voltages. But I risk damage to the amp.

Any advice out there?

How reliable are the SVI3205B Power Amp Modules, and how available are they. I would hate to bin this amp, the sound is just perfect for my old ears. It sounds great when playing my DVD-Audio Queen music through it.

Thanks for responses in advance
sNick

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member